the case for ‘pre-loved’

I was just reading a Blog from a friend of mine and thought I would share her thoughts here. I found this post really interesting, really gave me something to think about. I hope it may change your mind too…….

desertmum

Anyone who knows me knows I love a bargain. I break all rules of conversational etiquette when someone compliments me on something I’m wearing by responding with an enthusiastic declaration of how little it cost, and from where. Charity shops, second-hand sales, eBay – I love ‘pre-loved’.

But, over the last couple of years, I’ve been challenged to make this a central part of my shopping philosophy. Let me explain: I’m not talking about casually wandering into charity shops, buying the odd thing or two which, quite honestly, we don’t need anyway. I’m talking about changing our lifestyle so that we don’t buy new unless we absolutely need to.

Mister needs a bed – we search the community furniture store. We need a camera – we browse eBay. The kids need next season’s clothes – I scour charity shops and second-hand sales.

Unless we need to buy something new (e.g. for…

View original post 1,247 more words

One thought on “the case for ‘pre-loved’

  1. As a child, I was always forced to go to the charity Shops with my mam. I hated shopping for “pre-loved” goods. I hated the fact even more that I had to wear someone else’s castoffs. I was always so grateful that we had to wear a school uniform. However, my opinion over the years has definitely changed. I think it’s so important to shop for pre-loved items for the same reasons that Lucy listed above. I now love to buy things that I know someone else has owned. There is almost a magic behind it, an untold story. However, I do find it more difficult to shop second hand here in Germany. There are definitely not as many charity shops here and you really do have to look around for a bargain. Ebay is great, not only are you saving a small fortune, you are also taking something completely usable off someone else’s hands. This past weekend we were at a fleemarket and got some great bargains. I snapped up some lovely books that I can use with the children at school. I’ve also wanted some new cups and saucers for a while and found my first there for a euro. Bargain! And it doesn’t bother me at all that they won’t match when I buy a few more, I think they look cool! I hope this post by Lucy inspires you to look at your shopping habits and to get creative when shopping. You never know what you might find!
    Danielle

Leave a Reply

